Educators remember sorority founders

Mineral Daily News-Tribune
The Alpha Sigma Chapter of Alpha Delta Kappa met recently to celebrate the organization's Founder's Day. Alpha Delta Kappa is a national organization for women educators founded in 1947. The Alpha Sigma Chapter invites women educators from Mineral, Hampshire, and Grant counties to become members. Alpha Delta Kappa encourages and promotes advancement in inclusion, world understanding, altruism, and educational excellence. The women of Alpha Sigma met on the farm of the late Ray and Polly Umstot to celebrate Founder's Day, as Polly was a founding member of the Alpha Sigma Chapter. Donations were collected for local food banks and activities for the remainder of the year were planned. For more information on membership in Alpha Delta Kappa, contact chapter president Amy Rice or president-elect Amy Cowgill. Pictured are members Joy Ellifritz, Martha Hood, Michelle McRae, Mary Jane Romig, Sharon Squires, Lark Anderson, and Rebecca Wilkins; (back) Jane Fout, Amy Rice, Amy Cowgill, and Robin Fox.