Elk Garden voters return incumbents to office

Ronda Wertman
Special to the News Tribune
no caption

ELK GARDEN – Elk Garden voters returned their sitting council, mayor and recorder in Tuesday’s election.

Mayor Marian Droppleman, clerk Brandi Paugh and councilmen Kevin Broadwater, Michael Droppleman, Jody Paugh, Dave Tichnell and newcomer Donald “Louie” Stewart will take office on July 1.

Droppleman received 24 votes in her re-election bid for mayor, while Paugh had 22 nods for the clerk’s post.

Droppleman, Paugh and Tichnell each received 19 votes followed by Stewart with 18 and Broadwater with 15.

Challenger Gary Wildman earned eight votes and Charles Welch, who resigned from the council earlier this spring, received one vote.

EDITOR'S NOTE: This story was updated to correct a vote total which was incorrectly supplied to the News Tribune.