KEYSER - Keyser High School held its annual Class Night recently, handing out numerous awards and scholarships to members of the senior class.

By Liz Beavers
Tribune Managing Editor
KEYSER - Keyser High School held its annual Class Night recently, handing out numerous awards and scholarships to members of the senior class.
Prior to the event, the students had voted Sara Powell and Logan Mills as the Queen and King of Class Night, and the teachers also voted the same couple as the Outstanding Girl and Boy of the Senior Class.
Unfortunately, Powell, who suffered from cystic fibrosis most of her life, had passed away just a week before Class Night and Mills accepted their awards on her behalf.
Last year’s Outstanding Girl and Boy, Brooke Staggers and Reid Boden, presented the honors to Mills.
Other awards and recipients announced during the night included:
Scott A. Bolyard Scholarship: Zachary Kerns.
Potomac State College Thomas and Thelma O’Connor Scholarship: Justin Wertman.
Shirley Ann Hess Scholarship: Cheyenne Thompson.
West Virginia University Presidential Scholarship:  Summer Giles.
West Virginia University Diversity Scholarship: Leland Henderson.
West Virginia University Mountaineer Scholarship: Leland Henderson.
Davis and Elkins College Scholarship: Hunter Boothe.
Elk Garden Class of 1959 Alumni Scholarship: Angel Newhouse.
E.E. Church Scholarship: Cody Litten.
Keyser Rotary Service Above Self Award: Matilda Pollet.
WVU Medicine Potomac Valley Hospital Scholarship: Matilda Pollet.
Keyser Kiwanis Bull Bishop Baseball Scholarship: Tyler Swanson.
Keyser Kiwanis Mathias/Michael Softball Scholarship: Gabby Long.
Aubrey Stewart Scholarship: Alyssa Kephart and Cole Weaver.
Tack Clark Hall of Fame Scholarship: Maiah Hartman and Cole Weaver.
Janet C. Kalbaugh Scholarship: Ethen Whitlock.
J. Norman and Margaret J. Reeves Private Foundation Scholarship: Kelsey Green, Erik Willis, Keylene Willis, Cody Litten, Matilda Pollet.
Washington-Smith Post 152 Top Boy and Girl Award: Leland Henderson and Karleigh Lower.
Mineral County Board of Education Scholarship: Aaron Miller.
Catherine Armentrout Bowling Scholarship: Kathryn Amtower and Taylor Fraley.
Howard Lincoln Book Scholarship: Alexis Johnson, Leland Henderson, Brandon Tranum.
Ron Mathias Memorial Scholarship: Crystal Kuglar.
Jennie and Dallas Shaffer Scholarship: Jakob Hardman.
Skip Cook Memorial Scholarship: Angel Newhouse.
Mineral County Master Gardener’s Scholarship: Alyssa Kephart and Cody Litten.
Nadine Yutzy Scholarships: Alyssa Golub, Erik Willis, Kristen Biggs, Robert Beau Horner, and Zachary Kerns.
Joseph Stanislawczyk Memorial Award: Cheyenne Thompson and Ethen Whitlock.
Marine Semper Fidelis Award: Kelsey Green.
Marine Distinguished Athlete Award: Amonte Turner.
Marin Scholastic Exellence Award: Zachary Kerns.
Woodmen of the World Chapter 6 American History Award: Alyssa Holmes and Caleb Shreve.
American Red Cross Scholarships: Kaylene Willis and Caleb Shreve.
Matthew Webb Scholarship: Alyssa Holmes.
Keyser Moose Lodge 662 Scholarship: Taylor Fraley.
John R. and Shirley Shelton Scholarship: Lacey Cannon and Robert “Beau” Horner.
West Virginia Wesleyan College Scholarship: Paige Racco.
Fountain Ruritan John I. Rogers Scholarship: Justin Wertman.
AES Warrior Run Scholarship: Jeremy Robertson.
D&L Coal Scholarship: Katlynn Tichnell and Sydney Lyons.
Ed Kelley Scholarship: Erik Willis, Amonte Turner and Cole Weaver.
Katharine Church Scholarship: Sydney Lyons, Cheyenne Thompson and Katlynn Tichnell.
W.Va. Promise Scholarship: Whitney Alt, Darren Bishop, Noah Cline, Taylor Fraley, Summer Giles, Leland Henderson, Alyssa Holmes, Alyssa Kephart, Zachary Kerns, Crystal Kuglar, Austin Obenshain, Sara Powell, Caleb Shreve, Jessika Welch, Justin Wertman, Ethen Whitlock, and Abigail Whitt.