BURLINGTON – It was cool and damp outside but a roaring fire and conversations among friends kept visitors to the Stone House Traveller's Rest warm this weekend.
By Ronda Wertman
BURLINGTON – It was cool and damp outside but a roaring fire and conversations among friends kept visitors to the Stone House Traveller’s Rest warm this weekend.
During its history, the Stone House has been home to many holiday celebrations and in recent years the Mineral County Historic Foundation and Friends of the Stone House have welcomed friends old and new.
Venturing outside, visitors could step back in time with a winter encampment on the grounds.
Members of the encampment including Vivian Deetz, Mike Fredman and Ernie Purdy had many items they handcrafted on display including jewelry and pouches made from the original designs.
The Mineral County Historic Foundation began working on the Stone House in 2004 and after extensive cleaning; removing the former restaurant and preservation efforts it was placed on the National Historic Register.
Built in 1810 the caretaker’s side of the center includes a variety of display cases that can be rotated to showcase various aspects including an array of Stone House items.
This year the open house also included a special display of historic railroad replicas from the collection of Stan Szafran in the case.
The display included model replicas of Faulk’s Junk Yard, the Z tower, 21st Lane Bridge, the coal tipple and the B&O freight station.
A highlight of the Christmas open house each year is the performance by several local musicians who perform the sounds of the season and more.
Sharing their musical talents this year were Andy Agnew, Jessica Agnew, Noah Cline, Tim Miller, Rick Pegg and Paul Roomsburg.
Over the years, Traveller’s Rest has evolved into a visitor’s center highlighting local history including the Twin Mountain and Potomac Railroad as it is open for special occasions including the Route 50 Yard Sale and the fall flea market.
An accomplishment of the past year was the restoration of the floors and the continued restoration of the covered porches. Volunteers work each Thursday from 8 a.m. to noon and help is always welcome.
For more information on the Stone House, contact Frank Roleff at 304-790-1538 or visit the Facebook page: Stone House /Travelers Rest WV.