KEYSER - The Mineral County Middle School Science Fair was held at Keyser High School on Monday, Feb. 1, 2017.

For the News Tribune
KEYSER - The Mineral County Middle School Science Fair was held at Keyser High School on Monday, Feb. 1, 2017.
Winners from Frankfort Middle School and Keyser Middle School science fairs competed for county honors and a chance to advance to the Regional competition. All first, second, and third place winners in the county fair are now eligible to compete in the  RESA8 Regional Science Fair – Junior Division on March 14 at Shepherd University.  
Students who placed and their respective categories are as follows:
Animal Sciences:  First place, Addison Cross from Frankfort Middle School. Addison was the only participant in this category.
Behavioral and Social Sciences:  First place, Sophia Lord - FMS; Second Place, Krystin Evans - FMS; Third Place, Lydia Gattens – Keyser Middle School; and Honorable Mention, Heidi Carman – FMS
Biochemistry:  First place, BillieJo Bane – KMS; Second, Stone Cain - FMS; Third,  Emma Craddock - FMS, Honorable Mention, Kylah Ruff - FMS and Honorable Mention #2, Brianna West - FMS.
Biomedical & Health Sciences: First place, Halley Smith – FMS; 2nd place, Brooke Jacobs – FMS; 3rd place, Averi Smith – KMS.
Chemistry:  First place went to Emily Lark; Second, Makenna Love; Third, Ethan Clark; and Honorable Mention, Dalton Getz. All winners in this category are from Frankfort Middle School.
Earth Science & Environmental Sciences:  First place, Jillian Griffith – FMS, Second place, Alec Stanislawczyk - KMS; Third place, Jonathan Lewis – FMS.
Energy:  First place, Brittan Gough; Second place, Garrett Ferguson. Both students are from Frankfort Middle School.
Engineering:  First place, Dimitri Shultz - KMS; Second place, Zoe Long - KMS; Third place, Brice Cook – KMS; Honorable Mention, Timothy Umstead- FMS; and Honorable Mention #2 is Katelyn Stine from KMS.
Material Science:  First place, Kyle Shumaker; Second place, Emily Lewis; Third place, Christian Cimaglia; and Honorable Mention, Lacey Loar. All students attend Frankfort Middle School.
Mathematics: First place, Virginia Breedlove – KMS; Second place, John Dennison – FMS; Third place, E.J. Guy – KMS; Honorable Mention, Aaron Liller – KMS.
Microbiology:  First place, Jacob Logsdon from Frankfort Middle School. Jacob was the only participant in this category.
Physics and Astronomy:  First place, Carson Luther – FMS; Second place, Tanner Robey – FMS; Third place, Anthony Sanders – FMS; Honorable Mention, Damien Ott – FMS; Honorable Mention #2, Bryce Michaels – FMS; and Honorable Mention #3 – Janiah Layton – KMS.
Plant Sciences: First place, Katie Miltenberger – FMS, Second place, Hannah Lamb – FMS; and Third place, Dakota Albright - FMS.
System Software: First place, Hunter Powell – KMS, Second place, Corey Brieloff – FMS, Third place, Aiden Sensabaugh – FMS.
Cary Kyle, counselor, and Lois Spencer, principal of Mineral County Technical Center, coordinated programming for the science fair participants.
The awards program was held following the judging in the Keyser High School theatre.  
Assisting with the fair from Keyser High School were:  Michael Lewis, principal; Colin Rotruck and Sean Biser, teachers at KHS; and Julie Aronhalt, food services supervisor at KHS.
Pat Mason, retired assistant superintendent of Mineral County Schools, oriented and supervised the judges.
Betsy Root, Jacob Schoenadel, Kim Eyler, and Bill Johnson, science teachers from Keyser and Frankfort middle schools, chaperoned the students.
Judges for the fair were: David Idleman, Laura Wilson, Gary Kalbaugh, Mary Kaye Staggers, Tabby Woy, Jarrod Wilson, Sue Stakem, Rob Woy, Tom Denne and Joe Sank.