By Liz Beavers
Tribune Managing Editor
KEYSER - Second-term commissioner Janice LaRue was elected to serve as president of the Mineral County Commission Wednesday morning in a special statutory meeting held at the courthouse.
The meeting in which the commissioners took only 20 minutes to follow the tradition of electing the senior commissioner as their president also resulted in some major changes in appointments to county agencies.
Freshman commissioner Jerry Whisner will take LaRue's seat on the Mineral County Development Authority and Planning Commission, and fellow commissioner Richard Lechliter's seat on the Region 7 Workforce Development Council.
He will also serve as the commission's liaison to the MIneral County Firefighters Association, the Governor's Substance Abuse Task Force and Local DHHR Substance Abuse Task Force - all positions previously held by Lechliter.
Commissioner Lechliter, in turn, will now serve on the Potomac HIghlands Regional Airport Authority, the Farmland Protection Board, Mineral County Parks and Recreation, and Mineral County Board of Health - all positions previously held by former commissioner Cindy Pyles.
Lechliter will continue on the Mineral County Ambulance Authority and will continue to serve as the commission's liaison to Mineral County Emergency Services/911 and the Mineral County Wage & Review Board.
LaRue will serve on the Mineral County Committee on Aging, Community Corrections, Region 8 Planning and Development, Region 8 Solid Waste Authority, and WVU Extension.
In addition, she continues to serve as District 1 legislative chairman for the West Virginia County Commission Association, as well as a board member with the West Virginia County Commission Association, WV CORP Insurance Board, and West Virginia Property Valuation Board - all either statewide elected positions or, in the case of the Property Valuation Board, appointed by the Governor.
The commissioners also approved payment of some bills and approved the schedule for holidays, pay periods, and commission meetings.
The next regularly scheduled county commission meeting is Tuesday, Jan. 8, at 9:30 a.m. A staff meeting will precede the general meeting at 8:30 a.m.